Student Critics and Thespians Honored At 13th Annual Cappies

Students from Archbishop McCarthy High School in a scene from A Few Good Men, judged best play in the Cappies Tuesday

Students from Archbishop McCarthy High School in a scene from A Few Good Men, judged best play in the Cappies Tuesday

The Critics’ Awards Program, or Cappies, recognizing outstanding achievement in high school theater at the 13th Annual Cappies Awards Gala were held Tuesday at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts.

The ceremony modeled after Broadway’s Tony Awards featured songs and scenes from the top-nominated shows and recognized the best in high school theater in 42 categories encompassing awards for performers, designers, technicians and critics from 23 public and private schools throughout Broward and Palm Beach County.

Cappie Award winners are determined by votes from the students through a weighted peer review voting process. Nominations are made by student critics from participating schools who attend productions at rival schools and write reviews, which are then edited by theater educators and published on

In addition to the awards, $500 scholarships were given to each of the students who were recognized as Senior Critic, Lead Actor in Play, Lead Actress in a Play, Lead Actor in a Musical and Lead Actress in a Musical.

The full list of winners is below:

American Heritage School – Completeness
Comic Actress in a Play: Katrina Hickey
Sound: Rachel Banach

Archbishop McCarthy High School – A Few Good Men
Best Play
Lead Actor in a Play: Eric Maltz
Supporting Actor in a Play: Matthew Salas
Featured Actor in a Play: Juan Arcila
Featured Actress in a Play: Alexandria Palazzo
Comic Actor in a Play: Kevin Fitzpatrick
Stage Crew: Christine Fanchini

Boca Raton Community High School – The Drowsy Chaperone
Lead Actor in a Musical: Brendan Feingold
Supporting Actor in a Musical: Trevor Wayne
Lighting: Loren Stoller, Paige Munguia, Joane Compas, and crew
Special Effects and or Technology: Valeria Castano, Daniel Martinez, Sofia Garcia-Sanchez,
Matthew Moore and crew
Props: Emily Hunsucker, Allie Posner and Lorein Mones

Coral Glades High School – Pippin
Featured Actor in a Musical: Eli Flynn
Featured Actress in a Musical: Lena Armas
Female Dancer: Julia Mattos

Cypress Bay High School
Junior Critic: Nick Lopez

Deerfield Beach High School
Sophomore Critic: Maya Quinones

JP Taravella High School – Ragtime
Supporting Actress in a Musical: Leanne Antonio

North Broward Preparatory – Sideshow
Song: Private Conversations
Male Dancer: Mitchell Tobin
Male Vocalist: Miles McKee

Pine Crest School – Gypsy
Lead Actress in a Musical: Destiny Arlotta

South Plantation High School – The Addams Family
Best Musical
Comic Actress in a Musical: Kelly Walsh
Orchestra: Cousin It’s Pits
Costumes: Hannah Singer
Marketing and Publicity: Ashley Cador and Sydney Wheeler

The Sagemont School – The Miracle Worker
Lead Actress in a Play: Erica Merlino

Stoneman Douglas High School – Twelfth Night
Critics’ Team
Senior Critic: Eden Skopp
Supporting Actress in a Play: Ana Hymson
Ensemble in a Play: Circus Performers
Creativity: Melissa Mauer (Directing)

University School of Nova Southeastern University – The Mystery of Edwin Drood
Freshman Critic: Erin Cary
Female Vocalist: Michelle Langone
Choreography: Sophie Septoff

West Boca High School – The Addams Family
Ensemble in a Musical: Ancestors
Sets: Matthew Fread, Ryan Hartman, Nick Morelli and Cristina Rodriguez
Make-up: Marianne Alex, Amanda Helbling, Cori Rosenthal and Missy Varela

West Broward High School – Legally Blonde
Comic Actor in a Musical: Kyle Valencia

This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.