Theatre League Announces Remy Award Recipients

SFTcleagueaTo showcase outstanding work related to local theater, the South Florida Theatre League is honoring five individuals and an organization with the Remy Award.

Usually, the Theatre League issues two Remy Awards a year, the Service Award and the Pioneer Award. For its 20th anniversary festivities in December, the League has boosted the number of awards to six. Some of the winners represent aspects of theater that are not typically featured in more traditional artistic awards.

The recipients are:

The Pioneer Award: Adriana Perez of Miami-Dade Cultural Affairs, for her role in supporting the development of new work and artists, including expanding the Miami-Dade County Playwright Development Program. Perez also manages various other arts-related programs for Miami-Dade County. She works with the DeVos Institute of Arts Management at the Kennedy Center with its Capacity Building program, books programs for school children at the Joseph Caleb Auditorium, and works in partnership with Miami-Dade County Public Schools’ Cultural Passport program.

Outstanding Board Member: Alan Fein, who’s been affiliated with City Theatre in Miami from its inception in 1996. He is a former chair of the Miami-Dade County Cultural Affairs Council and is the Chair-Elect of the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts Trust Executive Board.

Outstanding Contributor to Children’s Theatre: Rosalie Grant, who’s been at the helm of Sol Children’s Theatre since it opened in 2002, and directed more than 60 plays and musicals.

Outstanding Contributor to Community Theatre: Dennis Lyzniak of Main Street Players, with assorted behind-the-scenes roles that include grant writer, producer, children’s camp coordinator, technical director, producer, master carpenter and playhouse manager

Service Award: WLRN public radio and television station for promoting South Florida theater in many ways, including Ed Bell’s weekly Arts Beat program, sponsoring the WLRN and South Florida Theatre League’s Summer Theatre Fest and for Cultural Connection, which features same-day half-price tickets to select productions.

 Outstanding Behind the Scenes Contributor: photographer George Schiavone, who snapped pictures for countless theatre companies, including GableStage, Mad Cat, Mosaic, Naked Stage, Promethean Theatre, Zoetic Stage, Broward College, Alliance Theatre Lab and New World School of the Arts.

The Theatre League’s 20th Anniversary Celebration and Annual Holiday Party is 7:30 pm. December 2 at STACHE at 109 S.W. Second Avenue, Fort Lauderdale. Entry is $25 for non-Theatre League members and free for League members in good standing.  The event also includes the Silver Palm Awards, a separate theater-related awards program. For information, phone (954) 557-0778 or visit the South Florida Theatre League website,

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.