Theatre League’s Remy Awards To Be Bestowed At Monday Gala

The South Florida Theatre League will bestow its prestigious Remy Awards during a fundraiser Monday in Fort Lauderdale, honoring  “unsung heroes who provide outstanding service behind the scenes of the South Florida Theatre League Community.”

The Remy Awards, named in honor of Remberto Cabrera, the former Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs’ Senior Cultural Administrator and Chief of Cultural Development, began in 1994 and were expanded in 2014.

This year’s recipients are:

The Pioneer Award: Ed Allen and Mimi Schultz

…is bestowed upon individuals who have, over the years, taken the lead and contributed substantially to the health, growth and development of the South Florida theatre community. The couple are founders of the Fantasy Theatre Factory in Miami.

The Service Award: R. Kent Chambers-Wilson

 is given to either individuals or organizations in recognition of their invaluable and outstanding contributions made through time, talent, service, and expertise by taking the initiative and actively participating and contributing to the growth and development of the South Florida Theatre League. Chambers-Wilson, a leader of the League and a Carbonell judge, has been an actor, stage manager and a half-dozen other theater-related positions.

The Jay Harris Arts Leadership Award – Harvey Burstein

Named in memory of one of South Florida’s dedicated arts patrons, the award honors those who have made a substantial contribution to the theatrical community in the ways that Jay Harris did – through leadership, on-going volunteerism, and financial support.

Outstanding Behind the Scenes Contribution – James Danford

Danford is a veteran stage manager for numerous productions, most recently for Palm Beach Dramaworks

Civic Arts Leadership Award – ArtBurst Miami

The relatively young operation underwritten by the Miami-Dade Department of Cultural Affairs hires freelance journalists to provide reviews of many different types of arts endeavors including theater, then provides it free to local news venues.

Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Theatre – The Members of the Miami Children’s Museum Theater Troupe

Led by Bree-Anna Obst and including Diana Garle, Robert Fritz, Peter Kisiluk, Travon Pierre, Seth Trucks, Krystal Millie Valdes

The event will start at 7:30 p.m. Monday at ArtServe, 1350 E Sunrise Blvd., in Fort Lauderdale with a reception with light refreshments, a silent auction, the awards presentations and performances by performances by Karen Stephens, Lourelene Snedeker, Caryl Fantel, Miami Children’s Theatre, and Dance Now.

Tickets for the 2019 Remy Awards event are $10 and are available  at

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.