Links

The aim of this ever-growing list is to provide a single place for all the links you use regularly. Please email us any links that you don’t see here including your own professional-related website.

Professional

Resources and Insights

American Association of Community Theatre  www.aact.org/

Art Search (job postings) www.tcg.org/artsearch/index.cfm

Arts Advocacy — Createquity reatequity.com/

Arts Marketing: Mission Paradox  missionparadox.typepad.com/

Arts Marketing arts-marketing.blogspot.com/

ASCAP (The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) www.ascap.com

BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.) www.bmi.org

Broadway/Off Bway Ticket Tips nymag.com/visitorsguide/essentials/faq/broadwaytickets.htm

Butts in the Seats  (blog on theater management) http://www.insidethearts.com/buttsintheseats/

Dramatists Play Service (acting editions of play publisher) www.dramatists.com

Florida Professional Theatres Association (includes websites for theaters across the state) www.fpta.net

Internet Theatre bookshop www.stageplays.com/writers.htm

Lark Play Development Center www.larktheatre.org/

Library of Theater in Film & Tape (incomplete card catalog in progress for New York Public Library’s collection of filmed NYC shows –  only open to pros, students, researches and journalists) www.nypl.org/locations/lpa/theatre-film-and-tape-archive

Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas  www.lmda.org/

Music Theater International (licensing)

National Alliance for Musical Theatre namt.org/

National New Play Network www.nnpn.org

National Center for New Plays www.stanford.edu/group/newplays/

Network for Ensemble Theaters ensembletheaters.net/

Play Penn (new play development ) /www.playpenn.org/

Playwright’s Links www.stagesource.org/pages/15203_links_for_playwrights.cfm

Press agent list (contact for every press agent in NY) www.nyconstage.org/press_publicity.htm

Samuel French (playscripts) www.samuelfrench.com/store/

Stage Directions www.officiallondontheatre.co.uk/

Theater Communications Group  (publisher of scripts, studies, books, American Theatre magazine plus dispenser of grants)www.tcg.org/

Theatre Logos (creator of advertising logos) www.theatrelogos.com/

Theatre League of South Florida www.southfloridatheatre.com/

Virtual Library of Theatre and Drama (well-named: a massive list of links worldwide) vl-theatre.com/

Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.  www.warnerchappell.com

Unions and Professional Organizations

American Federation of Musicians www.afm.org/

Actors’ Equity actorsequity.org/

American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (AFTRA) www.aftra.com/home.htm

American Guild of Musical Artists www.musicalartists.org/

Association of Theatrical Press Agents & Managers www.atpam.com/

Black Actors of South Florida www.blackactors.org/

Drama League (directors) dramaleague.org/

Dramatists Guild dramatistsguild.com/

IATSE – Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts www.iatse-intl.org/splash.html

League of Professional Theatre Women www.theatrewomen.org

New Dramatists www.newdramatists.org/

Screen Actors Guild www.sag.org/

Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers www.ssdc.org

Writers Guild of America  http://www.wgaeast.org/

Philanthropic/Non-Profit Sites

The Actors’ Fund of America www.actorsfund.org

Arts Radio Network artsradionetwork.com

Artsnet (searchable database for arts management info; directory of arts and culture websites) www.artsnet.org

The Chronicle of Philanthropy www.philanthropy.com

The Foundation Center www.fdncenter.org

Grantmakers in the Arts www.giarts.org

National Endowment for the Arts www.arts.endow.gov

Theatre Development Fund www.tdf.org

Patrons, Audiences and Fans

America Performs (national/international site for discount tickets) www.americaperforms.com/

Best Plays Yearbooks bestplaysonline.com/

Best of Off-Broadway www.bestofoffbroadway.com/

Broadway Archive (comprehensive site for buying CDs and DVDs) www.broadwayarchive.com/

Broadway Cares/Equity Fights Aids www.broadwaycares.org/Page.aspx?pid=195

BroadwaySpace.com (fan site) www.broadwayspace.com/

Broadway World (crowded fansite with national news) www.broadwayworld.com/

Broadway.com� (NYC-centric fan site, video interviews) www.broadway.com/

Carbonell Awards http://carbonellawards.org/

Cultural Connection (WLRN’s discount ticket site) www.culturalconnection.org/index.cfm

Curtain Up www.curtainup.com

Eugene O’Neill Theater Center (new play crucible) www.oneilltheatercenter.org

Florida Theater Guide (aggregate site)  www.theatermania.com/florida/

Frugal Theatergoer (discount tickets) http://home.roadrunner.com/~frugaltheatergoe/

Internet Theatre bookshop www.stageplays.com/writers.htm

The League of Off-Broadway Theatres and Producers www.offbroadway.org

Masterworks (commercial site for show albums) www.masterworksbroadway.com/blog

Musical Notes (site summarizing 100s of classic musicals) www.musicalnotesnmore.com/

National Theatre Posters (merchandising, but fund to troll) www.ntposters.org.uk

On Stage with Iris Acker: Archived podcasts of her interview show https://becon223.eduvision.tv/default.aspx

Playbill Radio (podcasts and interviews) playbillradio.com

Seating Charts in NYC www.cityguidemagazine.com/seatingcharts.cfm

Silver Palm Awards (South Florida awards recognizing excellence) www.silverpalmawards.com

The Sondheim Review  (quarterly dedicated to the composer and lyricist, with occasional articles by Bill Hirschman) www.sondheimreview.com

Talkin’ Broadway (general site including All That Chat) www.talkinbroadway.com/

Theatre League of South Florida www.southfloridatheatre.com/

Theater Talk (Michael Reidel’s TV show) www.cuny.tv/series/theatertalk/ or theatertalk .org

Ticketmaster

Telecharge www.telecharge.com/ /www.ticketmaster.com/

Virtual Library of Theatre and Drama (well-named: a massive list of links worldwide) vl-theatre.com/

Who’s Who (list of cast/crew bios in Playbill for current and recent NYC seasons) www.playbill.com/celebritybuzz/whoswho.html#search_form

Chat rooms

Talkin’ Broadway (general site including All That Chat) www.talkinbroadway.com/

Sondheim Review’s Finishing the Chat ww.sondheim.com/community/

MTI Show Space www.mtishowspace.com/

Rec.Arts.theatre.musicals groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&safe=off&num=30&q=group:rec.arts.theatre.musicals

Podcasts

American Theatre Wing (the treasure trove of audio and video podcasts) americantheatrewing.org/podcasts/index.php

DC  Theatre Scene dctheatrescene.com/category/04-podcasts/

Playbill Radio (podcasts and interviews) playbillradio.com

This Week on Btoadway itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=314073213&ign-mpt=uo%3D6

Theater Talk (Michael Reidel’s TV show) www.cuny.tv/series/theatertalk/ or theatertalk .org

Critics/ Reviews

South Florida

South Florida Sun Sentinel www.sun-sentinel.com/entertainment/stage/

Miami Art Zine (Roger Martin) www.miamiartzine.com/

Drama Queen (Christine Dolen blog) http://miamiherald.typepad.com/drama_queen/

Miami Herald reviews& articles www.miamiherald.com/christine_dolen/

New Times www.browardpalmbeach.com/arts

Palm Beach Artspaper (Hap Erstein) www.pbartspaper.com/

Palm Beach Post www.pbpulse.com/category/arts-and-culture/

South Florida Gay News www.southfloridagaynews.com/arts-and-entertainment/arts.html

Curtain Call Reviews (Jason Fisher) curtaincallreviews.com

Other Florida Critics Sites: News and Reviews

Orlando: Elizabeth Maupin On Theater  orlandotheater.wordpress.com/

Sarasota: Jay Handleman www.heraldtribune.com/section/opinion090205

Publications’  Sites

Austin Chronicle www.austinchronicle.com/gyrobase/Issue/section?name=Arts

Boston Globe www.boston.com/ae/theater_arts/

Boston Herald www.bostonherald.com/entertainment/arts_culture/

Boston Metro www.metro.us/us/entertainment/arts/boston/

Boston Phoenix thephoenix.com/Boston/Arts/Theater/

Chicago: Sun-Times www.suntimes.com/entertainment/stage/index.html

Chicago: Theater Loop (Chicago Tribune critic) leisureblogs.chicagotribune.com/the_theater_loop/

Denver Post blogs.denverpost.com/runninglines/

Hartford Courant www.courant.com/news/opinion/courant-columnists/hc-rizzo,0,4171927.columnist

London: Guardian www.guardian.co.uk/stage

London: Guardian blog http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/theatreblog

Los Angeles: LA Times theater page findlocal.latimes.com/

Los Angeles: Culture Monster (L.A. Times) latimesblogs.latimes.com/culturemonster/

Michael Reidel’s NY Post blog http://www.nypost.com/p/columnists/item_Yio6vBLpNhPmFUnra7N8bN;jsessionid=6E9C78FD7DDEB72E18AE25F31A47C20C

NYC: New York Times theater blog http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/

NYC: New York Times theater pages

NYYC: Newsday /www.newsday.com/entertainment/theater

NYC: Time Out www3.timeoutny.com/newyork/upstaged/

theater.nytimes.com/pages/theater/index.html

Philadelphia: Inquirer www.philly.com/philly/entertainment/arts/

Pittsburgh: Chris Rawson (news and reviews) community.post-gazette.com/blogs/onstage/default.aspx and podcast�www.post-gazette.com/podcast/detail.asp?id=11

San Jose: Karen DeSouza  (news and reviews) www.mercurynews.com/karen-dsouza

St. Louis: Blog on arts & food stlouiseats.typepad.com/st_louis_eats_and_drinks_/

Toronto: Nestruk on Theatre www.theglobeandmail.com/news/arts/theatre/nestruck-on-theatre/

Variety www.variety.com/index.asp?layout=dept_main&dept=Legit

Village Voice www.villagevoice.com/theater/

Washington DC: Washington Post www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/artsandliving/theater/index.html

Florida

Local websites

Theatre League of South Florida www.southfloridatheatre.com/

Local Artists Sites

Carol Kassie, publicist www.CarolKassie.com

Classical South Florida classicalsouthflorida.publicradio.org

Christopher Jahn’s site www.southfloridatheatrescene.com/

Drama, Daily SoFla director Nicole Stodard dramadaily.wordpress.com/

Theater Chat (Richard Cameron/Ron Hutchins) sites.google.com/site/theaterchat/

We’ll add your personal website upon request


Blogroll

Out of State Sites/ Blogs

Note: There are literally scores upon scores of theater blogs, many of them just venting by insiders and fans. We’ve tried to be subjectively more selective here, including only the best active ones and those of interest to Floridians. If you have an especially informative or entertaining one, please recommend it.

All About Jewish Theatre www.jewish-theatre.com/

Arts Journal http://www.artsjournal.com/

Austin Live Theatre austinlivetheatre.blogspot.com/Austin Chronicle www.austinchronicle.com/gyrobase/Issue/section?name=Arts

Baltimore Stages stagesbaltimore.wordpress.com/

Boston: The Arts Fuse blog.theartsfuse.com/tag/caldwell-titcomb/

Boston:� Stage Source http://www.stagesource.org/index.cfm

Brooklyn: Brooklyn Rail brooklynrail.org/2007/02/theater

Chicago: Chicago Reader www.chicagoreader.com/chicago/EventSearch?eventSection=84642&sortType=title&eventCategory=93922

Chicago: Talk Theatre  www.theatreinchicago.com/

Chicago: Sun-Times www.suntimes.com/entertainment/stage/index.html

Chicago: Theater Loop (Chicago Tribune critic) leisureblogs.chicagotribune.com/the_theater_loop/

Columbus: Michael Grossberg’s Theater Talk (news and reviews) www.artsjournal.com/dramaqueen/

DC Theatre Scene (Washington DC metro area) dctheatrescene.com/

Edinburgh Fringe Festival www.edfringe.com/

Everything I Know I learned From Musicals everythingmusicals.com/everything_i_know_i_learn/

Helen Hayes Awards (Washington D.C.) www.helenhayes.org

Indianapolis: Lou Harry’s A&E Blog  www.ibj.com/A&Eblog

Indianapolis:Indy Theatre Habit  www.indytheatrehabit.com/

London: Guardian www.guardian.co.uk/stage

London: Guardian blog http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/theatreblog

London Theatre Guide www.londontheatre.co.uk/

London: Official Theatre Guide www.officiallondontheatre.co.uk/

Los Angeles: LA Times theater page  findlocal.latimes.com/

Los Angeles:LA Stage www.lastageblog.com/

Los Angeles: LA Weekly http://www.laweekly.com/theater

Los Angeles: Bitter Lemons bitter-lemons.com/

Minnesota Playlist: minnesotaplaylist.com/

NYC: New York Magazine nymag.com/arts/theater/

NYC: New York Times theater pages theater.nytimes.com/pages/theater/index.html

NYC: General theater NY Post blog http://www.nypost.com/blogs

Michael Reidel’s NY Post blog http://www.nypost.com/p/columnists/item_Yio6vBLpNhPmFUnra7N8bN;jsessionid=6E9C78FD7DDEB72E18AE25F31A47C20C

NYC: New York Times theater blog http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/

NYC: NY1 On Stage video reports www.ny1.com/content/ny1_living/on_stage/

NYC: Playbill’s playblog http://www.playbill.com/playblog/

NYC reviews  nytheatre.com/

NYC: Off-Off Blogway (Off-Broadway blog) ooblogway.blogspot.com/

YC: Stage Grade (collects review of NYC productions) stagegrade.com/

NYC: Time Out www3.timeoutny.com/newyork/upstaged/

Parabasis  (NYC blog on wide range of culture) parabasis.typepad.com/blog/

Peter Filichia’s Diary (noted theater observer) www.theatermania.com/peterfilichia/

Philadelphia: Wendy Rosenfeld www.artsjournal.com/dramaqueen/

Pittsburgh: Chris Rawson (news and reviews) community.post-gazette.com/blogs/onstage/default.aspx and podcast www.post-gazette.com/podcast/detail.asp?id=11

The Playgoer (NY reviews and news) playgoer.blogspot.com/

Producer’s Perspective (blog by Bway producer Ken Davenport)�www.theproducersperspective.com/

San Francisco: SF Gate www.sfgate.com/eguide/performance/

San Francisco-Oakland: Theatre Bay Area www.theatrebayarea.org/

San Francisco: Chad Jones��Theater Dogs www.theaterdogs.net/

San Jose: Karen DeSouza  (news and reviews) www.mercurynews.com/karen-dsouza

Seattle: Take Part in Art Calendar takepartinart.org/

Seattle Weekly www.seattleweekly.com/arts/

Shenton’s View ( British blog) blogs.thestage.co.uk/shenton/

St. Louis: Blog on arts & food stlouiseats.typepad.com/st_louis_eats_and_drinks_/

Theatre Ideas (general musings by Scott Walters) theatreideas.blogspot.com/

Theatretimes (Los Angeles site) theatertimes.org/

Toronto Star www.thestar.com/opinion/columnists/94638

World Theater: Randy Gener’s In the Theatre of One World randygenerlive.blogspot.com/

World theater: Culturebot (blog is mediocre but has the best list of sites in other countries) culturebot.org/

National

About Last Night (Wall Street Journal’s Terry Teachout www.artsjournal.com/aboutlastnight/

American Theatre Wing (hundreds of audio and video seminars on-line and as podcasts) americantheatrewing.org/

Arts Journal  www.artsjournal.com/

Blue Gobo (large collection of video clips and photos from musicals) www.bluegobo.com/

Broadway Educational Association (school materials) www.broadwayeducationalliance.org/

Broadway League www.broadwayleague.com/

Broadway Stars (NYC news aggregator) www.broadwaystars.com/

http://www.broadwaystars.com/

Theater Development fund blog wp.tdf.org/

Theater Talk (Michael Reidel’s TV show) www.cuny.tv/series/theatertalk/ or theatertalk .org

Research

Research and Databases

Cast Album Collector (exhaustive and exhausting) astalbumcollector.com/database/

Cast Album Database www.castalbumdb.com/

Curtain Up database of reviews (since 1997) www.curtainup.com/mastridx.html

Internet Broadway Database (also born on this date and openings on this date) www.ibdb.com

Internet Theatre Database (a bit out of date) www.theatredb.com/

Lucille Lortel Foundation (ncludes database of off-Broadway awards) www.lortel.org

Musical Show Info /www.musicalheaven.com/4/index.html

Show Music on Record (Library of Congress) www.loc.gov/rr/record/showmusic/

Virtual Library of  Theatre and Drama (well-named: a massive list of links worldwide) vl-theatre.com/

Who’s Who (list of cast/crew bios in Playbill for current and recent NYC seasons)www.playbill.com/celebritybuzz/whoswho.html#search_form

Awards (all have lists and/or databases of past winners)

Carbonell Awards http://carbonellawards.org/

Drama Desk Awards  www.dramadesk.org/

Drama League Awards dramaleague.org/

Helen Hayes Awards (Washington D.C.) www.helenhayes.org

Internet Broadway Database (also born on this date and openings on this date)  www.ibdb.com

Internet Theatre Database (a bit out of date) www.theatredb.com/

Licul;e Lortel Awards www.lortel.org/LLF_awards/

Obie Awards  www.villagevoice.com/obies

Pulitzer Prize www.pulitzer.org/

Tony Awards (includes searchable list of winners and nominees) www.tonyawards.com/en_US/index.html