South Florida Theatre League Taps 2020 Remy Award Winners

By Bill Hirschman

The prestigious 2020 Remy Awards honoring “unsung heroes who provide outstanding service behind the scenes” have been announced by the South Florida Theatre League.

The awards, given since 1994, will be presented online as the closing event of the League’s Quarantine Theatre Fest via livestream on Zoom and Facebook Live. It will serve as a fundraiser for the South Florida Theatre League Relief Fund at a date still to be announced.

Presentation of each award will be accompanied by a performance from an artist chosen by the recipient.

This year’s recipients are:

The Pioneer AwardMatt Stabile, artistic director of Theatre Lab, the resident professional company at Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton. Stabile is an actor, director, playwright, producer and educator who has quickly built the company into a center of acclaimed productions alongside a significant education component. The Pioneer Award is bestowed upon individuals who have, over the years, taken the lead and contributed substantially to the health, growth and development of the South Florida theatre community.

The Service AwardTim Davis, producing artistic director, actor and co-founder of New City Players in Fort Lauderdale. One of the leaders of a young company that has quickly cemented a reputation for fine theater, Davis also pushes the concept of local theater troupes being deeply connected and involved in the community at large, implemented at his theater through such programs as NCPLab, City Speaks, The Forum and The Green Room. The Service Award is given to individuals or organizations in recognition of their invaluable and outstanding contributions made through time, talent, service, and expertise by taking the initiative and actively participating and contributing to the growth and development of the South Florida Theatre League.

The Jay Harris Arts Leadership AwardSteven M. Weinger, president of the board of directors of GableStage in Coral Gables. He has been instrumental working with the late Joseph Adler to ensure the company continues to thrive, especially as the troupe has pursued becoming the resident and managing company at the Coconut Grove Playhouse. Named in memory of one of South Florida’s most dedicated arts patrons, the Jay Harris Arts Leadership Award honors those who have made a substantial contribution to the theatrical community in the ways that Jay Harris did – through leadership, on-going volunteerism, and financial support.

Outstanding Board MemberGustavo Meimbiela, chairman of the board of Area Stage Company in Miami.

Civic Arts Leadership AwardMarialaura Leslie, deputy director, Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs

Outstanding Behind the Scenes ContributionKenya Anthony-Moore, freelance stage manager and production manage, who has worked at multiple organizations in the Miami area including Area Stage, Miami-Dade College, and Miami Children’s Theatre.

Outstanding Contribution to Children’s TheatreArt Garcia is the technical director of Miami Theater Center, and lauded as “the backbone of their classes and summer camps, which are the bulk of their programing these days.”

Outstanding Contribution to Community TheatreJudson Wright is the artistic director of Cutler Bay Community Theater, which has been committed to community building in south Miami-Dade County.

The Remy Awards are named in honor of Remberto Cabrera, the former Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural affairs’ senior cultural administrator and chief of cultural development.

While access to the livestream will be available without a ticket, donations to the South Florida Theatre League Relief Fund will be encouraged throughout the evening. The fund was created this year in response to the COVID-19 crisis and has already given away over $10,000 to artists and theatre workers who have lost work due to the pandemic.

The Remy Awards initially were the Service Award and the Pioneer Award. In 2014 the board of the League increased the categories to honor the breadth of those in our community whose contributions are often overlooked.

The South Florida Theatre League is an alliance of theatrical organizations and professionals dedicated to nurturing, promoting, and advocating for the growth and prestige of the South Florida theatre industry. For more information visit or contact Andie Arthur at or 954-557-0778.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.