2021 Remy Awards Announced

So Fla Theatre League Announces Remy Awards | Florida Theater On Stage

The 2021 Remy Awards honoring those who provide outstanding service behind the scenes to the region’s theater community were announced this week by the South Florida Theatre League.

The livestream of the award presentation  is slated for 7 p.m.  Monday September 27 with the video being available on demand afterwards. It will include performances from artists who are special to the winners.

The livestream link will be posted on www.southfloridatheatre.com closer to the event and will be broadcast on the South Florida Theatre League’s Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SouthFloridaTheatreLeague.

This year’s recipients are:

The Pioneer AwardBeth Boone, Miami Light Project

The Pioneer Award is bestowed upon individuals who have, over the years, taken the lead and contributed substantially to the health, growth and development of the South Florida theatre community.

Boone was chosen for her work at Miami Light Project in launching South Florida Artists to the world. In his nomination, Michael Yawney wrote, “For over 20 years, through her commissioning and presenting programs at Miami Light Project, Beth Boone has brought the world to South Florida artists and delivered South Florida artists to the world. Works originating at Miami Light Project have toured to over 15 countries. Her support of theater creators has never wavered. Artists who have taken South Florida culture to the nation and the world like Teo Castellanos, Natasha Tsakos, Rosie Herrera and Rudi Goblen launched their careers at Miami Light Project. Artistic and Executive Director Beth Boone is an administrator with the vision of an artist.”

The Service AwardChristina Alexander and Katie Christie, Alexander Christie

The Service Award is given to either individuals or organizations in recognition of their invaluable and outstanding contributions made through time, talent, service, and expertise by taking the initiative and actively participating and contributing to the growth and development of the South Florida Theatre League.

Christina Alexander and Katie Christie were chosen for their work in creating the AntiRacism Theatre Strategies Cohort and helping the League expand its vision and our community become more equitable.

The Jay Harris Arts Leadership AwardLaura Bruney, Arts and Business Council of Miami

Named in memory of one of South Florida’s most dedicated arts patrons, the Jay Harris Arts Leadership Award honors those who have made a substantial contribution to the theatrical community in the ways that Jay Harris did – through leadership, on-going volunteerism, and financial support.

Bruney was chosen for her tireless work at the Arts and Business Council in helping arts organizations expand how they think about marketing, her creation of a board member matching service, and all of her work to help arts organizations in Miami during the pandemic.

Outstanding Board MemberDavid Scharlin, Miami New Drama

Scharlin was chosen for his work as board chair for Miami New Drama. In her nomination, Jessica Kaschube wrote, “David has led a rapidly growing and evolving board since the company’s inception. His spirit and commitment to the artistic vision and mission of our organization deserve to be recognized.”

Civic Arts Leadership AwardEileen Higgins, Miami-Dade County Commissioner

Commissioner Higgins was chosen for her push to allocate $10 million dollars of CARES act funding to Miami-Dade based arts organizations and artists at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, along with her longstanding support of the arts.

Outstanding Behind the Scenes Contribution Tim Bennett

Bennett was chosen for his longtime work as a technical director and set designer at various theaters throughout South Florida, including 20 years at the Caldwell Theatre.

Outstanding Contribution to Children’s TheatreJeannette Martos

Martos was chosen for her long term work with Main Street Players Summer Children’s Programing. In his nomination, Dennis Lyzniak wrote “Ms. Martos has done a remarkable job teaching our children the various elements of theatre, from hanging lights and costume design to writing their own plays, and finally finding enough confidence in themselves to step on stage and perform in front of their families.”

Outstanding Contribution to Community TheatreDana L. Frederbaugh, Actors Community Theatre of Davie

Frederbaugh was chosen for her service as president and longtime volunteer to Actors Community Theatre of Davie and their efforts to reopen the theatre with community center.

The awards are named in honor of Remberto Cabrera, the former Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs’ Senior Cultural Administrator and Chief of Cultural Development, are given to those who provide outstanding service behind the scenes of the South Florida Theatre League Community.

The  awards are being produced by Stone Circle Media and will include performances from artists that are special to our winners.

While access is available to everyone, donations to the League are encouraged to  support its ongoing AntiRacism Theatre Strategies Cohorts and upcoming continuing education for artists and administrators. Donations can also be made to the South Florida Theatre League Relief Fund, which helps artists in need. Over $25,000 was distributed to artists directly throughout the first year of the pandemic.

The Remy Awards have been a part of the South Florida Theatre League since its first year (1994) – with the Service Award dedicated to those who have provided outstanding service to the League and the Pioneer Award dedicated to those who have changed the landscape of South Florida Theatre. In 2014 the Board of the League made the decision to increase the number of categories to honor the breadth of those in our community whose contributions are often overlooked.

The South Florida Theatre League is an alliance of theatrical organizations and professionals dedicated to nurturing, promoting, and advocating for the growth and prestige of the South Florida theatre industry.  For more information about the South Florida Theatre League visit http://southfloridatheatre.org/ .

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.